Pizza P*rn

She kneaded with a strong yet gentle motion, rolling the rising dough in her hands.

Turning the oven temperature up to its highest degree, she slid the pizza pan inside. Her apartment grew warm from the blazing heat of the oven and it felt as if Mount Vesuvius had relocated to her kitchen.

A drop of sweat fell slowly from her brow while she peered impatiently through the oven door. The cheese began to bubble voraciously underneath the fiery red coils and the salami seemed to cry out in a plea for more heat.

This pizza was going to be good…The best, in fact.

And she was anxious and hungry to have him taste all that she put into creating this course of culinary cuddling.

Ten minutes under the flames felt like an eternity. She couldn’t bear to wait. Her greatest desire was to share a slice with him, together in a savory sort of serenade.

When she heard the timer ring, her heart leapt in a nervous flutter of joy and excitement.

She carefully extracted her perfect pizza from the roaring oven and brought it to the table, placing the sultry pie directly in front of him.

She couldn’t take her eyes off of him as he cut through the crispy, crackling crust.

Yes, this pizza yearned to be devoured.

He picked up a slice in his hands and brought it to his mouth, in what seemed almost like slow motion.  His lips parted and he drew the pizza closer in.

She held her breath in anticipation of what was to come.  And just as the moment was about to arrive…

He burnt the roof of his mouth on his scalding slice.

Alas, perhaps next time, she should propose romance with ice cream instead!

*******************

I wrote this piece of flash fiction with this pizza in mind that I had made the other night and posted to my Instagram account.

This pizza was a super-easy meal that really required nothing more than a pizzeria-bought dough and the usual pizza ingredients like mozzarella, tomato sauce, salami, mushrooms, basil or any toppings you desire! (Usually a ball of dough costs $3-$4 at your local pizzeria…)

Make sure your oven is on the hottest setting.  Then rub some olive oil on your hands and stretch the dough into a pan that has been greased with olive oil too.

Top the dough with tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, basil, oregano and any other ingredients and cook for approximately 10-15 minutes.

And PRESTO!

You’ll have a “homemade” pizza that you’ll fall in love with! Buon appetito!pizza pic

PS: Thank you to my blogging friend, Notes Tied On The Sagebrush, for the inspiration to write flash fictions from photos!

51 comments

  1. I could feel the anticipation and the tension building through your descriptive words. I wasn’t prepared for the jolt at the end, but I loved it! Love and romance are messy, and if he can’t handle a little pizza burn, well… 😉 Your pizza looks amazing!! I wonder if I can find a good pizzeria in SC to buy some dough? Your photo has me dreaming of Juliana’s in Brooklyn. Oh, what I wouldn’t do for a pizza burn from one of those slices! I just love your stories and the unique spin you put on each one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Karen I adore how you say that love and romance is messy! It is so true and yeah if this guy can’t cut it well then maybe ice cream wouldn’t help either! LOL yes Julianas in Brooklyn is a great place and if I had to burn my mouth on one of those slices it wouldn’t be the end of the world I suppose! I hope you could find a ball of dough at a local pizzeria in South Carolina? Do they have mom-and-pop style pizzerias there?
      Hope all is going well by you and that the waters have receded. I’m thinking of you and sending you virtual pizzas and hugs. Have a great weekend!

      Like

  2. I just finished a sushi dinner and now after reading this I am hungry. Sounds delicious and easy to make. Nice story as well. Hope it wasn’t a first date. It might have put a damper on the romance. 🙂 Thank you for the sweet mention at the end. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed my flash fiction and indeed it is a super easy recipe to make an almost homemade pizza! I hope you enjoyed your sushi dinner last night but sorry to have made you hungry! LOL

      Indeed this would have put a real damper on a first date. I’m glad there were no mouths burned in reality when I made this pizza! And many thanks for having inspired me to write flash fictions! They’re fun ! Have a super weekend !!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic fiction, Lia. You are not only a great chef but a great writer. You have the talent to bring us along with your emotions and thoughts. The only criticism I have is this: you write so well that we are left drooling and wishing to be there to devour this pizza!
    Brava!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Omgomgomg…I rarely crave pizza these days, mostly because I’ve recently developed a sensitivity to gluten and it just doesn’t make me feel well at all…but this pizza looks amazing!

    Also, love the story. It was getting all seductive there for a while…until it wasn’t. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Britta! I’m sorry to hear about your gluten sensitivity so when we finally meet I promise to make you a gluten-free pizza! I am so glad that you liked the story. I took it to it level that I usually don’t take but I was referring to the pizza, after all:) sending you all my very best!!

      Like

    • Thank you so much Terri! I enjoyed writing this so much and my love of pizza definitely helped to make the characters come alive, I hope. Indeed how many times have we burned our mouths on pizza no matter how good it is, it still is a shock! Luckily when I made this pizza in the photo, I let it cool 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Janet so much! That means a lot to me. 🙂 indeed I have not been blogging so much or reading as much lately. Work seems to have gotten the best of me for now but I hope that things will lighten up soon. I love writing so much I hope it would never be jeopardized by a job! I hope you’re doing well and sending you all my very best:)))

      Like

  5. You are such a wonderful writer, Lia. Your story is as enticing as your pizza looks. Nice slice of flash fiction. Perhaps next time a romantic night of pizza quickly followed by some ice cream? Pizza—now that’s my kind of inspiration. In fact, I think I could use a little of that kind of inspiration right now. I was already hungry before I read this and now I’ve got a serious craving. I’ll be ordering a pizza shortly. I’m certain you are singlehandedly responsible for a significant increase in pizza consumption over these past few days! Have a great weekend!
    ~ Jeannie :))

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really love what you’ve been doing lately, integrating food and recipes into your writing. Something about it is scratching me right where I itch! I liked your little nuances and word choices here, a very romantic pizza… and then flop, lol 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow!! It looks delicious!!! I’d eat it all right now!!! Kudos to you Lia!! I’m catching up with your posts and I found out about your switching to a food blog….but you created an original style adding these flash stories, and you’re super good at it! Complimenti Lia, continua cosi!:)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

