The Finale of…Stinkbug : A Love Story

With many thanks for your support and encouragement, here’s the finale of Stinkbug: A Love Story!

Will the cute spider return to the Stinkbug?

(Here’s Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3…)

Enjoy the finale and thanks again!

**************

Dear Diary,

Monday, 7am

When the cute spider left me in the park to follow the ladybug on the garden store circuit tour, I didn’t think she’d be gone for 2 weeks already.

There’s been no sign of the cute spider in the apartment or in the bathroom, for that matter.

I haven’t moved an inch from my usual tile on the bathroom floor.

And I find myself constantly looking up at the bathroom window, just in case I spot the cute spider’s typically beautiful masterpieces…

But so far, no web.

I’m starting to think she’ll never return.

Tuesday, 11am

The absence of the cute spider is really taking its toll on me.

This morning, when a nice, juicy aphid landed right smack in front of me, I didn’t so much as blink…Lucky for the little guy, I’ve lost my appetite.

And I haven’t even watched a single episode of my favorite TV shows,  “As The Worm Turns” and “Who Wants to Bee A Millipede”.

Indeed, without the cute spider around, I’ve lost all desire to stinkbug.

Wednesday, 2:30am

I can’t sleep.

I can’t stop thinking about the cute spider and all those charming chiggers and dapper dragonflies she’s probably meeting on the garden store circuit tour.

Surely, she’s forgotten about me.

Thursday, 1pm

As you may know, Diary, we stinkbugs stick together in good times and in bad.

So when the guys saw me depressed recently over the cute spider’s departure, they tried to cheer me up.

Max brought over take-out larvae buffet and Herb suggested we go showerhead diving, just like we did back in the good ol’ days.

Murray showed me his funny home videos but I didn’t laugh once, even when he was being chased by the exterminator’s hose.

I appreciated the guys and their kind gestures to cheer me up but my stinkbug heart wasn’t really into partying.

I was too busy wallowing in self-pity like a cricket who’s lost its song…

Just then, while Max was reaching for the last larvae, his eyes perked up with an idea.

“Tiffy!” he said.

We all looked at him as if he were loopy as a moth in a porchlight.

“Tiffy, my daughter…She’d be perfect for you!” proclaimed Max, with a proud papa look on his face.

The idea of being set up with Max’s daughter didn’t thrill me since the cute spider was still on my mind.

But feeling rather numb about everything, I heard myself robotically replying, “Sure, why not.”

Friday, 8pm

Max and his daughter, Tiffy came to the bathroom this afternoon.

Max was beaming like a glowworm but Tiffy looked as thrilled as a cockroach in a sparkling-clean kitchen.

She didn’t even look up from her nails to say hello so Max had to nudge her to barely shake feet with me.

Tiffy, cracking the pink bubblegum in her mouth, began fixing her antennae in the bathroom mirror and smelling the various perfumes that were left out on the counter.

She was obviously not the least bit interested in me…

And to be honest, I was glad.

This stinkbug was still set on the cute spider. She had spun me deep into her heart and there was no point of return.

Max seemed flustered and embarrassed by Tiffy’s rude behavior so he gently ushered her towards the bathroom door with the excuse that “Tiffles forgot her curling iron on at home.”

And in a flash, they were gone.

I breathed a deep sigh of relief and nestled back into my usual tile on the bathroom floor.

I fought off thoughts of the cute spider by focusing on the idea of making my 10-tile trek again, starting tomorrow.

This time, I’ll even beat my personal best and try for 15.

Yes, Diary, I’ll go back my life the way it was before I met the cute spider.

Unfortunately, my self-esteem and self-pride built up while with her, had diminished like a cicada’s chorus at the close of summer.

Saturday, 3am

I fell asleep around midnight but awoke to the sounds of wind whipping through the bathroom window.  It had been opened earlier by a tricky termite who was curious to come and crash our party .

As thunder rumbled in the distance, I remembered that Murray had been complaining today that his bursitis was acting up …so a storm must have been approaching.

As I was crawling up the wall to shut the window, something stopped me dead in my tracks.

I saw it.

A web.

A silky, shiny, wonderful web…bigger than any I’d ever seen before.

It was spun in the shape of an intricately-woven heart..and in the middle of it, was the initial “S”.

My eyes grew as wide as a bedbug’s in a mattress factory.

“S is for Stinkbug…That’s me…”, I whispered aloud to myself, incredulously.

Just then, I heard “Psst!” coming from below.

I whipped my head around, looking down at the floor.

There she was, sitting on that very special bathroom tile where my whole journey began, months ago .

The cute spider had returned to the bathroom. The garden store circuit tour was over.

I couldn’t believe this was happening.

She was beaming as brightly as a jar full of fireflies on a summer’s evening.

The cute spider and I ran towards each other and she threw her eight legs around me in a colossal hug.

It felt good…

She was here and she loved me.

In fact, I never doubted it for a minute.

tile with heart

55 comments

  1. Love love love, I love this story!!! I’ve realised I might have spent a bit too much time with teenagers here when I had this crazy thought “hope she did not come back pregnant”:P Nah,love won and whatever happened with the lady bug, past is past. Thanks for making me starting the week end with high spirits, regards to the beautiful couple 😉 XXX

    Liked by 3 people

    • My dearest!!! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the story and I got a chuckle at your thoughts that the cute spider had come back with special news!
      Indeed, love won over all… And I’m so glad to help you start off your weekend :))
      I’ll give your best to the happy couple when I see them later on in their special place in my apartment;)
      Lots of love to you in the lovely Phillipines!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The ending is just perfect Lia! I was really hoping the cute spider would return…..and boy did she….with a grand romantic gesture! I have really enjoyed this story and love your wit! My favorite line: “She had spun me deep into her heart and there was no point of return.” I can’t wait for your next story 🙂 Have a happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sue! Indeed the cute spider came back 🙂 She’s head over heels with the Stinkbug!
      Ah ha! Please stay tuned for more news on when the Stinkbug will be sitting on store shelves or on e-book! Thank you for your encouragement and support! I so appreciate you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh Lia I am so excited for you and for readers!! So let me know as things progress. I am thrilled to have met you on the blog and of course in person. When you are a famous children’s author I will say “I knew here when….”

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely Lia! This story just warmed my heart! You really had me going if cute spider was returning! So glad a spider-hating human didn’t squish (gasp) her! I loved the part about the shower head diving and could just picture a bunch of bugs jumping off into my tub, LOL! You really should consider publishing this whole story into an ebook or book complete with illustrations (you must know some great artists in Manhattan). Charming and enjoyable finale to the Stinkbug Saga! Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Terri!!! I’m so glad you liked the finale…I remember when you and I had spoke about Part 2!
      Indeed, the cute spider is back, safe and sound to the bathroom 🙂
      LOL I’m happy you liked the shower head diving imagery! Since the Stinkbug really lived in my own bathroom, the whole story was “created” in my bathroom with my bathroom window, shower, sink, door, in mind! I’m glad you could imagine the little guys hanging out, diving off into your tub!
      Yes, yes, this will be the first book I publish — ebook and/or complete with illustrations…
      Thank you, thank you for your support, enthusiasm and friendship for Stinkbug (and me)!
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love many of your analogies like, ” my eyes grew as wide as a bedbug’s in a mattress factory.” I think that was my favorite. I would say you certainly could write a book. You have such a great, playful imagination. Have you even thought of children’s books?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great line: She was beaming as brightly as a jar full of fireflies on a summer’s evening. Loved it! And having lived with a small NY bathroom, I could easily see yours. I thought the idea of shower diving was brilliant. And it’s so visually written that doing illustrations would be fun. Would you do them?

    I’m so glad you finished it. You could go two ways: a book for children but not really little children, maybe 7 or 8 yr. olds, (I’m wondering about the whole “love” thing and the suggestions of suggestiveness) or you could do it for adults with fanciful and intriguing drawings. Look at all the adults that already like the story! Maybe think of it like a graphic novel.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so glad he’s back! Stinkbug! Bless his loyal and loving little heart! Tiffy is excellent – although I don’t think I actually want to meet her. This is such a delightful tale! And beautifully written. When I saw the posting, I felt like you’d sent a gift. Thank you!! I’m glad you are going to publish it. You must keep us all “in the loop”. Perhaps aim to launch in time for Valentine’s Day. 😉
    Cherio from here….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Janet! Thank you so much for your sweet comments! I’m so glad you liked the finale…and I’m emotional at reading that you saw my posting as a gift…Wow, that’s an amazing thing to say and I’m honored you felt that way! Indeed this will be published and hmmm, a romantic Valentine’s Day launch sounds perfect!
      Thank you always for your continued support and encouragement!!
      Have a lovely start to your day,
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Aww, I’m so glad you made a happy ending ❤ Reading the other comments about you publishing something got me excited, I would be eager to get my hands on a copy 🙂 I love your creative and fun writing!

    All the best,

    Chelsea 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Karen! I’m so glad you enjoyed the finale to the Stinkbug story:) And yes, love prevails! Ps: I love the word “woven” that you used here… It’s such a lovely way to describe a story. I really appreciate your feedback! Hope you’re enjoying your summer:))

      Like

    • Thank you, Britta! Indeed, a sad ending wouldn’t have been good….I believe that true love conquers all!
      Thanks so much for your support for my writing and hmmm, it’s funny you mention what will come next since I’ve got something new brewing!
      All my very best,
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I can’t wait for whatever you have coming next!
        Also, you can bet I’ll be one of the first to pick up that book of yours! (I was browsing through the other comments and was very intrigued by a mention of a book 🙂 )

        Like

Leave a Reply

