The Saga of the Stinkbug…Part 3

Hello and welcome to Part 3 of the Stinkbug story!

If you haven’t read Part 1 and 2, I’d love it if you would read them here and here.

Thank you, everyone, for the inspiration to write Stinkbug, Part 3!

*************

Dear Diary,

Monday, 7am

Since I last wrote, the cute spider and I have been hanging around the apartment a lot together.

But seeing how the guys were heckling me about meeting my new “lady friend”, I decided that the cute spider and I needed some time alone, away from those crowded tiles.

I had to get out of the bathroom sooner or later…

So yesterday, the cute spider and I went to the park.  We ran into a swarm of activity there.

There were a bunch of bugs that we don’t see within the confines of the apartment:  fluttering butterflies, creeping caterpillars, buzzing bees…

The cute spider and I sat cuddly on a park bench.  It felt a lot better than the cold bathroom floor.

And it actually seemed like the perfect location for our first kiss (which I have not stopped thinking about since we first met).

I got a sign that the cute spider was thinking about it too when she slowly tucked her hair back behind her ear.  Cute spiders do that kind of stuff right before they want you to kiss them (or so I read).

Just as I was about to transform into a “suave cicada” and steal a kiss, a venomous insect came along and ruined everything.

…The ladybug.  It was that darned ladybug.

When I saw the ladybug, I got flustered and quickly scooted away from the cute spider.

“Suave cicada” turned into “wimpy worm”.

I tried not to show my insecurities to the cute spider because in actuality, the ladybug and I had met before…

Back at the apartment, about two months ago, the ladybug had been sitting on the outside of the bathroom windowsill, curiously peering in.

I’m sure she was looking for some hunky hornet or some burly beetle but instead… she found me.

As soon as the ladybug saw me, she stepped back in shock and surprise.

The ladybug exclaimed; “Pee-yoo… What is that smell?  Oh, it’s you, Stinkbug. Thank goodness there’s this screen separating the two of us. I wouldn’t want any of your stink to rub off on me.”

Her biting words stung my very core.

The ladybug then huffed and flew away from the windowsill…taking my self-pride along with her.

Flash-forward to yesterday’s encounter in the park:

When the ladybug saw me together with the cute spider, she raised her antennae.

The ladybug knew my weaknesses… and she played into them just like a mosquito toys with your ankle before taking a big, juicy bite.

Pompously strutting towards our bench, the ladybug introduced herself to the cute spider, completely ignoring me.

The ladybug bragged to the cute spider that she had recently been away on some fancy garden store circuit tour as a spokesbug for a new lawn fertilizer.

While the ladybug droned on with her garden store story, she would every so often intentionally flutter her wings, right in my direction.

Sheesh…What a pest…

Throughout our encounter with the ladybug, the cute spider didn’t say a word.

She listened politely to the ladybug’s story, keeping one of her legs gently wrapped around my thorax the whole time.

It felt good.

It felt good up until the ladybug proposed that the cute spider join her on her next garden store tour.

The ladybug explained that the garden store was looking for a new spokesbug to advertise an insect repellent.

While she spoke of insect repellent, the ladybug looked straight at me.  Her words were as direct as a wasp hitting a windshield at 65 miles an hour.

I noticed that the cute spider’s eight eyes lit up at the thought of being the garden store’s new spokesbug…

…and just then, she let go of me.

The ladybug caught on to the cute spider’s reaction to her proposal and fed into it like a moth to a cashmere sweater.

“C’mon Spider…Let’s go talk some more, down by the drain pipe. I also heard a couple of handsome hornets just flew into town,” said the ladybug.

Before the cute spider had time to think, the ladybug tugged at one of her eight legs, pulling her away from the park bench…and away from me.

The two crawled off but before they were out of sight, the cute spider turned to look at me.

She mouthed the words:

“I’m sorry… I’ll be back”…

 

 

50 comments

  1. I ve been waiting for this one for a loooong time! And it was so worth the wait 🙂 You write so well my dear, I love this post so much, and I could not repress an (apparently loud) laugh when the spider “slowly tucked her hair back behind her ear”. It was hard to explain to the waiter of the café what was so funny..

    I really like lady bugs, they are my fav ones (with gecko!). I guess they are like us humans, some are very poorly educated. I just hope the Cute Spider won’t be fooled by her and realize soon enough that the only beauty that matters is the one of the heart.. Ah.. spiders..

    XXX and again thanks for this awesome post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • My dear! The smile on my face is so wide, it’s almost to my ears!
      I’m so glad you liked Part 3…indeed it was a long time coming..the story was brewing in my mind and when I saw the ladybug that I took here in the featured photo, I knew she had to be the “villain” of the story…I myself love ladybugs so it was hard to see her as a negative influence but hey, as you say, some might be impolite! LOL!
      I’m glad you got a laugh…I enjoyed writing it…I wonder what will happen in Part 4…Hmmm..stay tuned! Thank you again my dear!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lia, this is just marvelous! What an imagination you have and how you can take contemporary issues and apply them to … bugs! I’m now on the edge of my seat as to what will happen next. Like Estelea, I had some laugh out loud moments, too. So well-written and fun! Congrats on another amazing story!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, thank you! That means so much to me…Yes, I am thinking of these bugs with humanlike emotions! I swear I saw that ladybug on that leaf and snapped a quick pick of it, knowing she’d be the antagonist in the story…Am I getting a bit too attached?
      Stay tuned for Part 4…hopefully the Stinkbug will come out a winner!
      Thank you always for your continued support!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Martie! Yes, hmmm who knows if the Stinkbug will get back his true love??? Indeed the Cute Spider might have been coerced into stardom by the Ladybug? Stay tuned 🙂
      Have a lovely Thursday and (almost) holiday weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh how I love that the lady bug is the villain!! I hope cute spider comes back, I love the way she had a leg wrapped around his thorax! So imaginative, I now need to know if spidey comes back! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww, that poor stink bug. When will he ever succeed in getting some loving. Stink bugs have feelings, too! Haha, I love the “suave cicada,” though. Who knew the insects of New York had such rich inner lives and romantic desires. 🙂 You’re creativity never ceases to amaze me, Lia. I hope there will be another installment where the stink bug has a happier ending…? That darn ladybug!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Deborah!! In fact, I hadn’t met a real stinkbug until recently….and yes, ladybugs are some of my favorite insects but I figured I’d put a twist on it! And spiders…Yes, they’re ubiquitous around my place too! Thanks for reading and hope you had a great July 4th weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yea!!! I finally got to where I’d stored this in my waaaaaay too many emails. Couldn’t let it go past. This is a great story, Lia, and I’d wondered if it was coming back. Looking forward to the next installment….a cricket? Nah, too big. An ant? Maybe too small. A June bug. There. That’s about the right size. But I’d rather the spider return….:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Janet, thank you! Your words mean so much to me!
      I love your ideas about the cricket, ant and June bug…Hmmm Part 4 is brewing…Stay tuned!
      Thank you always for your support and for being a part of my blog!!
      Have a great start to your week!
      *Lia

      Like

  6. I enjoyed all three parts of the Stinkbug Diary, Lia. Probably just as well that the spider went off with the ladybug, because the spider could easily trap and eat the stinkbug if they got into a tiff. lol. Fun story! 😀

    Like

    • Thank you, Jet! I’m so glad you like the three parts to the Stinkbug Saga…stay tuned for Part 4! It’s true that the spider could devour the stinkbug in one gulp! Maybe it’s for the best that she ran off??
      🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • Melissa, that means sooo very much to me! I’m so glad you enjoyed all three parts! Stay tuned for Part 4! Plus, this will be the book I’m planning on publishing too 🙂
      I really thank you for your support and kind words!
      PS: I’ve been reading your posts and welcome back!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love it, and can’t wait to buy this book. It is awesome!! Thanks for the welcome back, I have been thinking about you and felt bad that I just haven’t even read many blogs the past couple of months, but I had to come see what you were up to! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you so much for your comments! I’m so glad you liked the Stinkbug story… Stay tuned for the Finale coming soon:) And I’m glad you like my new theme… I was happy to stumble upon it when searching for something new :))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

