Santa Claus and Barbie on a Road Trip…

 

When I was a kid, Christmas morning consisted of tired eyes, hands ripping through wrapping paper and pleas of  “Can we play with it nowwww…..Pleeeeease?”

My poor parents looked as if Santa Claus had forgotten to give them the gift of 5 hours more sleep.

We’d be overjoyed with Santa’s stash that he left in our living room and although our home lacked a fireplace, we didn’t question the fact that he arrived somehow and squeezed underneath our front door, perhaps.

One Christmas, when I was about 7, Santa brought us a Barbie camper…

It wasn’t the Barbie dream house…but instead, it was a rolling piece of real estate!

Barbie and her friends (Ken, and a couple of wanna-be Barbies) would spend countless hours, driving across the Mojave desert in search of cool places to barbeque (better known as my bedroom floor, but as a 7-year old, your imagination runs wild).

The Barbie camper represented freedom for this 7-year old. I would imagine the places I would visit as soon as I got older – the distances I would drive and the hamburgers I’d cook on the camper’s pull-out patio.

Thanks to my mother, who has kept virtually all our childhood toys, the Barbie camper still lives…somewhere amongst the dust bunnies and spiderwebs in the basement…

Perhaps this weekend, I should go visit and give the ol’ camper a whirl? I’m sure there are places I’ve yet to visit and Barbie would sure look pretty cool as my co-pilot …..

 

Number of words = 246

Written in 5 minutes, uninterrupted

******************************************

Thanks to my dear blogging friend, Britta, who had nominated me for a fun, lightning-fast, writing challenge.

The “Free Style Writing Challenge” topic that she chose to give me was “Childhood toy(s)” as I wrote about above.

Here are the guidelines for this writing challenge.

  1. Open an MS Word document
  2. Set a stop watch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you think you can beat.
  3. You topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.
  4. Fill the word doc with as many words as you want. Once you begin writing, do not stop even to turn or to edit.
  5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
  6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals. However if you do, it would be best.
  7. At the end of your post write down “Number of words =_____” so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
  8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic that you choose for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nominations (at least 5 bloggers).

***********************

I’ve decided to change the rules a bit and nominate anyone out there in the blogosphere who would like to participate in this free-flowing writing activity!

So drumroll, please….Here’s my free-style writing topic that I’d like to pass on to you:

 

KETCHUP

(Sorry folks, outdoor barbeque season is upon us and I swear it’s the first word that came to mind!)

Have fun!

68 comments

  1. Great memories Lia! I have similar ones except my Barbie had the sports car so had to take very short trips. Those things are all long gone now so it’s wonderful that your folks have kept them! Yep – give it a whirl 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We didn’t have a fireplace either and it really bothered me. It felt like Santa had to break in to give us our gifts 🙂 Love your lightening fast post! It is funny how the small things in our childhood could have such an impact. Sounds like the Barbie Camper was the perfect gift that year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it always seemed magical how he would come in without using the traditional chimney mode! It did have a breaking and entering feel to it!
      Thanks so much for your lovely words! Indeed, the Barbie camper was an extremely memorable gift and still remains iconic in my family til this day!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Janet!! That means so much to me..I’m glad you enjoyed the post. It was fun to write!
      Indeed, I played with Barbies for years…they always helped to me create stories and fashion shows..and days at the beach (thanks to the bathroom sink standing in as the ocean!)
      Thank you for visiting! I hope all is well with you!
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Chelsea!
      Aren’t Barbies great? All the fashions and hairstyles and traveling they experience!
      That’s great that your mom kept your childhood toys too! It’s so much fun to play with toys at an older age…takes me way back!
      Hope all is well with you and happy (almost) Friday!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Although in my day Barbie was very basic my daughter had many assorted houses but never a camper. Deprived child. 🙂 I am seriously impressed by your ability to sit down and write so eloquently. Well done my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha! I loved reading this. And here is my secret: My mom kept all my Barbie stuff in their attic and when I visit I usually go up there sit down in the middle of my Barbie world and remember the good old times (until my daughter finds me and starts playing Barbie with me and I have a good reason to play again…). I have to say though, it’s more fun to play with my old Barbies than with my little girls new stuff. It got slightly different… Anyway… good memories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m glad it brought back fun memories for you too! I can imagine the Barbie world in the attic!! And I agree that the newer dolls just aren’t the same…
      Thanks for sharing and have a great rest of your Friday! Happy weekend!
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Barbies are everywhere…on the side of my tub, on the love seat, on the kitchen table…if I had a camper, I’d send them off on a road trip for a few days! Lol! Tigger and Pooh have the VW, but it won’t hold a fraction of the Barbies littering my house!

    Great post, it really took me back to a time when I loved Barbies just as much. Maybe they can keep loitering around the house for a while longer…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh I love to know that you too have Barbie-palooza at your house like me (well, at my parents’ to be exact! )
      The VW sounds so cool!
      Is it too late for me to get it? Definitely keep your Barbies around… They’re joyful reminders of childhood!
      Happy weekend and thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely post, Lia! Whatever you write about is interesting, lively, inspiring and makes me always smile.
    How nice of your mother to keep it. I have nothing left from my childhood! I do remember I had a Barbie with silver hair though, and I named her after a female singer. Lol
    Thanks for a great post.
    And have a wonderful weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is so lovely, Lia, what great childhood memories. I LOVED Barbie!! I also had the motorhome and it was pink! You are so lucky you mom kept those, they are probably worth a lot of money on Ebay. Alas, my mom threw all mine out when I moved out. I definitely think you should go check out those Barbies and take them out for a spin! they are patiently waiting for you (think Toy Story 3)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Colleen! It was a fun writing challenge… And oh how lovely that your home was full of Barbies! And can’t wait to read about Barbie et al in your book!! Hooray!
      Have an amazing weekend and many hugs coming your way. …
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Aw, this is so lovely, Lia. Glad you particpated. That is so wonderful that your mom has kept your toys. Maybe a trip down memory lane this weekend would be the thing to do. 🙂 Also, I love your prompt. People could get pretty darn creative writing about ketchup, I think, and that’s awesome! Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Britta for this challenge! It was alot of fun to do and Barbie’s camper popped in my head when I got ready to write: )
      Abd the same with the word ketchup! Indeed it could spark a myriad of different writings !
      Have an amazing weekend and thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Very well said, Karen! It most likely is worth something on the market for vintage toys! And indeed the memories are priceless!!!
      Have a great weekend! I’m actually off to my parents’ house now, so I’ll see to find it!

      Like

    • Thank you for your comment! When I saw the writing challenge prompt of “Toy(s)”, Santa and his magic immediately came to mind….it’s so lovely the joy in children when they imagine!
      Thank you for your visit to my blog!

      Like

    • Thank you Cecilia for reading and for your kind comment! It was a fun challenge to do and the Barbie camper popped in my brain as I thought about toys 🙂
      Have a lovely weekend and thank you again for reading!
      *Lia

      Like

  9. we had a version of the barbie camper too – but for some reason I seem to recall a yellow one for GI Joe and well – we liked it too. and your 5 minutes of writing was a nice flashback 🙂

    oh and have a quick joke…

    Three tomatoes are walking down the street pappa tomato, mamma tomato, and a little baby tomato.
    Baby tomato starts lagging behind.
    Poppa tomato gets impatient, goes over to the baby tomato, and says hurry or “Catch up”

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a lovely memory! Did you go and find the camper in your Mum’s basement or does it live on in your memories for now? BTW my favourite toy was a Tonka truck!! Not quite the same eh but v happy memories nonetheless! ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

