I Saw Superman in New York City!

phone boothOK, OK, I have to admit…I didn’t actually see Superman today in New York City.

But I did see his “changing room”…better known as an outdoor phone booth.

You may remember that a phone booth was the place where Clark Kent, nerdy reporter for the Daily Planet, changed from his conservative office attire into Superman’s tight-fitting, muscle-hugging, electric-blue body suit with a huge “S” on the front.

(No way that outfit would have passed Daily Planet’s company dress code.)

In Manhattan, there are only 4 outdoor phone booths left and they’re all located on the Upper West Side of the island.

You can imagine that with the dawn of the cell phone, the outdoor phone booth became an almost extinct sight in the Big Apple.

However, I figure that the 4 remaining outdoor phone booths could still come in handy in case a New Yorker actually needed to use one if:

– Their cell phone was inadvertently dropped in the path of the oncoming “L” train during the rush-hour crowd.  Cell phone now resembles more of a hot pretzel instead.

– Their cell phone was involved in a scuffle between a runaway hotdog cart, a street mime and a pigeon.

– Their cell phone took a dive into the Hudson River after a run-in with a distracted, texting jogger and his fanny pack.

But seriously speaking, in an age of cell phones and other technology, it was nice to see this phone booth today.

As I strutted down the street, (cue the “Saturday Night Fever” theme song),  this phone booth transported me back to a time when communication was different than it is today — when we didn’t have cell phones.

In my teens, I always had to carry a dime in my pocket in case I needed to call my parents to say I’d be home past curfew.

And if someone was already using the phone booth, I had to wait…and wait…and wait…

And all important phone numbers had to be memorized because there was no “Contacts” list to scroll through.

Alas, today this phone booth made me recall my youth and the simpler times gone by.

And so I wanted to use this phone booth to call my parents and say hello.

Now…wait…hmm..

If I could only remember their number…

 

 

 

 

 

50 comments

  1. Lia you have sparked my intrigue. I am going to be on the look out for phone booths. Now that you mention it I’m not sure I have seen one in some time.
    I loved your loss of cell phone scenarios. I just hate it when the mime and pigeon get in a kerfuffle in the hot dog cart. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sue!
      Indeed I didn’t know these phone booths still existed in NYC! I was happy to find one yesterday…
      And yes, now that you’ve been to NYC, you know how precarious those pigeons can be…not to mention the mimes and the hotdog carts 😉
      Have a lovely weekend!
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I love that seeing a phone booth resulted in such an entertaining and thought provoking post. It is interesting to think how much things have changed. The phone booth just went away without much notice. What will Superman do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed my walk down “memory lane”! Indeed, seeing this phone booth on Friday really took me back to a time gone by. Now, to be honest though, I couldn’t survive without my smartphone! But things were much simpler back then when it was less “techy” in the world, I think.
      Yes, poor Clark Kent is probably combing the city for a vacant phone booth — I hope he reads my blog!
      Thank you for the comment and have a happy Sunday!
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Phone booths are sadly becoming something of the past. My children have never seen one in person but have on TV shows and they are 19 & 20. Everyone now always are on their smart phones. I have a dumb one, haha, and rarely use it. Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I agree that today’s generation probably can’t imagine having to call someone from a payphone…Smart phones (or less smart as you say!) are indeed useful at times but I miss the simpler days!
      Thanks for commenting! Have a lovely weekend!
      *Lia

      Like

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the trip! Yes, I was pleasantly pleased to find a phone booth in the city…reminded me of yesteryear!
      Indeed, those mimes could probably outsmart the pigeon and the hotdog cart, combined!
      Happy Saturday!!

      Like

  4. Ok, wait a minute. I thought you were still a teenager! I have to change the image I made of you in my mind 😉 I actually had to use a public phone in NYC two years ago (I needed to call my aunt who lives close to the city), but it wasn’t a phone booth, the phone just hanged on a support…by the way we also still have phone booths all around the city here in Rome. But that’s just because we’re too lazy to send someone to remove them :)))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Uh oh, I’ve blown my cover! I’m not necessarily a teenager anymore (thank goodness on some respects!) but I’m young at heart!
      Yes, the payphones on the wall do come in handy at times when the cell phone cannot — I swear I really don’t know my parents’ phone number by memory though so I’d be in trouble if I needed to call! Must memorize it!
      That’s funny what you say about the phone booths in Rome…I remember the orange Telecom Italia public phones and buying the scheda telefonica to call home when I was in Italy. Do they sell them anymore? The ones you ripped off the tiny corner? I remember the “Boop, Boop” sound of the phone when you were dialing the number…Fun memories!
      Buona domenica and hope your’re having a great trip in the UK!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Great, that means I’m just like you, young at heart ah ah 🙂 but I know my mom’s number by memory because it’s still the same since I was a kid 😉 I’d say they still sell the schede telefoniche, but I wouldn’t really know how to use them ah ah… Anyway we have plenty of Indian phone shops which work very well if you ever need to call by a payphone… I had a good in the UK, now I’m on my way back home..Grazie mia Blogger preferita, buona domenica a te!!! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah yes, I am definitely young at heart for sure!
        It’s good to know that your childhood number hasn’t changed…and good to know that the schede are still around perhaps! I remember the advertisements on the back of them too.
        I’m glad you had fun in the UK! But I’m sure it’s good to be home too.
        Grazie mille per il complimento! Sei molto gentile!
        A presto!
        *Lia

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Un bel post Lia sulle cabine telefoniche, certo che se torniamo nel tempo erano molto utili, adesso però sarebbe meglio lasciarle non si sa mai …si ci potrebbe riparare dalla pioggia .. ciao ti auguro una serena domenica un abbraccio 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ciao Pinuccia!
      Grazie mille per il tuo commento..e’ vero che servono poco oggi come oggi le cabine telefoniche…questa che ho trovato infatti mancava la porta. Peccato perche’ mi fa ricordare gli anni passati ma con l’arrivo della nuova tecnologia, la mia vita e’ anche piu’ facile con il mio cellulare — specialmente se mi perdo per strada e utilizzo il Google Maps!
      Buonissima domenica a te e a presto!
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  6. YES! And when caller ID came out, phone booths, or ‘pay phones’ in the South, were the only way to make a prank call! 😃 Love the cell phone destruction adventures…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It would be strange to use an old telephone booth. I would assume those phone booth phones are push button numbers. I wonder if a number dial phone would even work anymore? I have not seen a phone booth for a such a long time. But I do not live in a city. I am thinking they may still be at the train station in LA?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed I think the phone inside the booth was touchtone — I haven’t seen the rotary style dial phones in the longest time. My mom kept a pink one for years but I think she finally got rid of it. Too bad — they were iconic!
      Maybe there are still phone booths in other big cities, like you say…I’ll have to come back to California to check it out 🙂
      Thanks always for visiting me…
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

      • Maybe your Mom’s phone was “The Princess Phone. ” I remember first seeing one in a Hayley Mills film, the original “Parent Trap” by Disney so long ago. Haylee had a Princess Phone in her bedroom in Carmel. My cousin admired it so much. We wanted that phone. My mother eventually had one too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Indeed these phone booths have practically disappeared! I was surprised to see one last Friday… Kids today probably can’t imagine what it was like to use a payphone! And I admit, I’m so attached to my smartphone!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Love it! One of my favourite parts of nottingham is where we still have an old-school red phone box. It’s so quintessentially British, that it’s always good to walk past and see they’re not all gone! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Unfortunately not as much as I’d like them to be used! I’ve only ever seen one here in Nottingham and it’s more likely to be used as a photo spot for tourists than phone calls! But I guess phone boxes are sort of redundant now, so I should be glad we still have one at all! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed I’m totally lost if I have to think of people’s phone numbers! I swear I don’t know my parents’ new one!
      Yes unfortunately kids today will have no idea of the concept of a phone booth or payphone!
      Have a great Thursday and enjoy the finally nice weather!
      *Lia

      Like

    • Oh I see we have that in common:) Now the pay phones are up to 25/50 cents I believe!
      I too was surprised there were so few left.. And all in one part of the city!
      Thanks for the visit and your kind comments, as always:)

      Like

  9. What a lovely post Lia but it makes me wonder what Superman does these days?? Is he hiding down alleyways to get changed – and if so why hasn’t anyone spotted him? – or has he moved onto a different method of turning from Clark Kent into Superman?? Does he still even work at the Daily Planet or has he gone completely self-employed in which case he could just keep his lycra on all day and no longer needs to worry about phone booths?!! So many questions……!!! Thanks for getting my brain going!!! ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your visit! Indeed, where in Superman these days? I like your idea of him being self-employed and being able to wear his lycra all day! I’m glad I made you smile 🙂
      A presto e grazie mille!
      Buon weekend!
      *Lia

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I don’t remember the last time I saw one! I just had a whole set of childhood memories flash right before my eyes after reading your post. By the time I was born, very few were in use. I remember jumping around from one booth to another to call the police station-it being free of cost and all. My poor mother used to always fall just behind and being the woman she is, she would apologize to all those policemen through the phone and listen to all the ‘Ma’am,Is someone monitoring your movement? Is that why you are hesitant?’. Ah! I miss phone booths! I doubt superman would let me abuse them though…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Great post, Lia. How nice if Superman would still be found changing clothes in a phone booth!
    It is incredible, isn’t it? Here in Amsterdam they removed them all from the streets. You need a cell phone. Period.
    If you have no battery left, and have an emergency, you’d need to ask help to someone.
    You’re not the only one not knowing anymore the tel numbers. I know the one of my parents’s house because its the same since I was a kid. But their mobile numbers….nope.
    Have a great week!
    Hugs form Amsterdam.
    Lucile

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Lucile! Indeed phone booths are definitely becoming obsolete here..it’s interesting that in Amsterdam there are no more….And about not remembering phone numbers, I surely don’t remember people’s cell phones either! Yipes!
      Hoping you had a lovely weekend…it is finally warm and sunny in NYC — feels as if winter never was here!
      Many hugs,
      *Lia

      Like

      • Hi Lia, you’re welcome.
        I sometimes wonder how tourists do here. No phone booths. And the public transport system uses electronic cards; although one can still pay the ticket from the driver, it’s much more expensive.
        I just see their eyes rolling trying to understand the daily cards system.
        Talking about the weather…. I’m happy for you. Here we keep hoping for warmer temps..it’s not happening yet. Still around 52F
        Have a good week!
        Hugs back at you!
        Lucile

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Lucile!
        Yes, I feel badly too for tourists here sometimes when they try to navigate the subway and bus systems…It is rather confusing and overwhelming — Of course, I love being a tour guide of sorts and helping out anyone in need 🙂
        We should seriously think of setting up a travel bureau between NYC and Amsterdam and run a tour company!
        Oh, I’m sorry the temps aren’t warm yet…52F is rather chilly…I’m sending gentle and warm waves of wind your way!
        Have a great start to the week,
        *Lia

        Like

      • Hi Lia! You’re so generous to help them!
        I love the idea of our intercontinental travel bureau. Let’s go for it!
        And please send these most wanted warm waves! It’s chilly here.
        Thank you and have a great week too!
        Hugs
        Lucile

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

