It’s Just an Empire State of Mind…

When you hear the word “empire”,  what’s the first thing that comes to mind?

  • Monarchs in powdered wigs, wrapped in ermine and carrying a scepter?
  • Toga-wearing Romans being fed grapes in an inclined position?
  • Sultans sipping a cup of Turkish coffee in Constantinople?
    or perhaps,
  • George Lucas and his ‘Star Wars’ movies…and a big bowl of popcorn?

When I hear the word “empire”, I think of my home state of New York.

New York’s official nickname is “The Empire State”.

Now, this may seem like a moniker with a mild case of egomania…

But it was, in fact, George Washington who coined New York’s nickname in 1785…(thanks, Wikipedia)

In a letter to the mayor of New York City, Washington called New York, “The Seat of the Empire”.     (He must have liked the place a lot.)

And after all these years, the name “The Empire State” has remained.

In honor of this daring diminutive, I am delighted to display some black & white photos I took of the famous:

Empire State Building (Built in 1931 — Way to go again, Wikipedia)…

 

empire 1A

 

empire 2

 

empire 1

 

empire 3

empire 4
I’ve written this post especially in honor of my fellow blogger, priorhouse blog, who chose me for the 5-day Black & White photo challenge.  Here are the rules:

1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in B&W.

2. Each day, invite another blogging friend to join in the fun!

I’ve broken these rules a bit, since I’ve created 1 post with 5 photos, (instead of 5 posts with 1 photo each!)  Blame it on all this intrepid empire talk!

I’ve chosen another blogging friend to carry on with the 5-day B&W photo challenge…My amazing, fellow New Yorker and fabulous blogger/photographer, Souzapalooza!

All these black & white photos give this post an “old-world empire” feel to it.
Too bad my toga is in the wash…Will someone pass me the grapes?

48 comments

    • Thank you Terri: ) yes I’ve got to admit that I think of the movie next, after NY!
      Yes it’s definitely fun to snap pics around town. Just I have to watch when I walk and shoot pics since the sidewalks and traffic are difficult to navigate at times! But it’s all worth it in the end! Thanks again for the lovely comments…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. If I remember my history right from that great book “1776” by David McCullough, New York was occupied by the British during the Revolutionary War and I think the first Congress met in New York as well. I did not know the bit about George Washington calling New York the seat of the empire. The black and white photos go well with the 1930s feel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes that’s true about the Revolutionary War… There are many monuments here as to where Washington and his troops were… I didn’t know about the Congress: )
      I wondered why NY is the Empire State and so I guess it makes sense that Washington was a NY enthusiast!
      Thanks, I love B&W and the 30’s architecture too!
      Have a great Thursday!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well my friend, you’ll forgive me but as a Roman I can’t help but think about my city 😉 But as a New Yorker in my soul, right after I think about the Empire State 🙂 You know how much I love your city! Great shots by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 🍇🍇🍇🍇🍇🍇🍇
    there are the grapes – and who knew about george with the nickname – I love bits of history!
    have a great day Lia – and I love the way you did the challenge – so now I am going to visit Souzapalooza….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. well this post totally made me think of this hit song…. and I did not realize they also did it with some B & Ws (please feel free to delete this if you do not want this in your comment section…. but Keys is truly at her best with this song)

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Great pics and a great question. Empire makes me think of the olden days – the Roman Empire, the Byzantine Empire and the British Empire – and old films like Empire of the Sun! Oh and empire line dresses!! Thanks for making us think!! Keep the questions coming…..! ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very interesting (and great picts btw). I would have thought of .. Napoleon of course, the French Emperor (had he lived in a most recent time, he would for sure have built a tower comparable to yours.. those little tiny egos… :P)
    Have a beautiful week end my dear!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

