A Very New York Valentine…

Love is in the air!

And nothing says “Valentine’s Day” in the Big Apple, more than a poem!

I wrote this one, with a classic in mind, and dedicated it to the city I love…

NEW YORK!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

‘Twas the night of St. Valentine’s when all through the city,

New Yorkers bought roses and other things pretty.

The subways were full of commuters in haste,

It’s Valentine’s Day and there’s no time to waste!

**

The chocolates were packaged, all sweet in a row,

While visions of candlelight warmed the fresh-fallen snow.

And me in my gym clothes, just changed out of my suit,

Heading on home, I grabbed take-out en route.

**

When down in the subway arose such a delay,

I feared not to arrive in time for Valentine’s Day.

Stuck in the tunnel, I pulled out my phone,

Alas, might my darling spend Valentine’s alone?

**

The voice on the speaker of the broken-down train,

Gave the message we loathed with communal disdain.

“Ladies and Gentleman, we’ll be here for a while.”

Not a passenger laughed, not even a smile.

**

Our muscles grew tense and our minds full of dread,

With thoughts of angry spouses and partners, clouding our head.

And the scent from the bag of my take-away curry,

Gave my hunger more reason to get home in a hurry.

**

When what to my exhausted eyes should I see,

But a jolly old man, making balloon animals for free.

We heard ‘squeaking’ like mice, as balloon shapes were made,

And he sang and he joked, so our stress began to fade.

**

A giraffe! A poodle! And even a rose!

We all watched in wonder, as the subway still froze.

With a twist and a tie, his fingers so quick,

I knew in a flash which balloon I would pick,

**

He passed them out to the crowd with a kind, friendly wink,

Our frustration was lifted and we all thanked him, I think…

Then after a minute, the train conductor said,

“The problem is fixed, we’ll be moving ahead”.

**

The subway crept towards the station, the show almost done,

‘Balloon Man’ sprang to his feet and grabbed his bag full of fun.

And I heard him exclaim as he got off at Times Square,

“Happy Valentine’s Day to all, and to all, LOVE TO SHARE!”

52 comments

  1. Lia! That was a wonderful poem! You captured the cadence of the original poem perfectly! Your well-written words painted such perfect picture of everyone in the subway watching “Santa Valentine” making balloon animals! It really made me smile (and I read it to my hubbie and he laughed too). Bravo!! And Happy Valentine’s Day to you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lia, I don’t know why you don’t show up in my reader anymore, if I’m your follower. I had to come to your blog because it had been a long time since I read one of your posts. To my surprise I found many.
    Anyways, I am glad I did come here. I read wonderful posts and haikus and realized how much I have been missing the smile you put on my face.
    I will keep coming here to be in the safe side.

    Now about this post. BEAUTIFUL! I enjoyed it so much. It is a heartwarming and lovely poem. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh that’s happened to me before with other bloggers I follow who don’t appear anymore in the Reader! It’s a weird bug in the app I think… I’m glad you liked the recent posts: ) and to put a smile on your face! I’m glad you liked my Valentine poem: )))

      Like

Leave a Reply

