Award-winning kindness…

I’ve got a big secret to tell you.

I believe in:

Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, La Befana, unicorns, Cupid, and that little lepreuchaun who puts those colorful marshmellows into my breakfast cereal …

Oh, and I believe in spreading kindness, goodness and appreciation in all corners of our lives!

Recently, I’ve received kindness, goodness and appreciation from three lovely bloggers who’ve nominated me, here at Lifestyles with Lia, for various Blogging Awards!

They are:

Lucile De Godoy

Estelea’s Blog

What Is Past Is Prologue

****************

Sincere thanks go to my fellow blogger and dear friend  Lucile for the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award” nomination!

sisterhood

Here are the guidelines for the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award”:

  • Provide the link to the person who nominated you.
  • Add the reward logo.
  • Answer the questions your nominator has asked.
  • Nominate 5 other bloggers and let them know via comments.
  • Ask your nominees 5 questions.

Lucile’s questions for me:

1. What do you like or dislike about this time of the year?

I like the days after the hustle and bustle of Christmas and New Year’s because I stop and ponder the year just passed and what lies ahead. It’s an introspective time for me.

2. Do you know how to cook and can you share a typical and delicious recipe from your country?

I’ve grown into a good cook, later in life. I delight in creating meals and the sprinkle of love that I put into food is my secret ingredient!

Since the United States is a melting pot of many cultures and ethnicities, it’s hard to choose one recipe that represents the U.S.  But I’d have to say the traditional American dessert: Apple Pie!

Yipes! I don’t have a recipe to share here, even though I love to eat it!

3. What is old/aging for you?

Old is a feeling, not a number.

You can be 91 but feel like 21…or vice versa.

4. Did you know any of these nominated bloggers, and if not, would you check their blogs now?

I did know some of them..and those I didn’t know, I’m glad to meet!  

5. Are you mad at me because I nominated you for this award and you have extra work to do now?

Mad? Me? Never….I write this post as the sun streams through my apartment window and feel grateful for writing about this award!

And here are my nominations for the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award”.  (I’ve chosen 2 bloggers instead of 5).

The 2nd 35 years

and

Get Back, Lauretta!

Please check out these amazing blogs — I know that you’ll be charmed by them as much as I am!

Here are my 5 “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award” questions for

The 2nd 35 Years and Get Back, Lauretta!:

1. What is your “go-to” dinner when there isn’t time to cook?

2. What is one item that you’ve gotten rid of that you wish you would’ve kept instead?

3.  If you were stranded on a desert island, what would you want to have with you to read (while waiting for the rescue helicopter to arrive)?

4.  What is the spiciest thing you’ve ever eaten? Where were you when you ate it?

5.  You are given only 2 choices of career: either Professional Surfer or Professional Birdwatcher. Which would you choose?

*********

Another award-giver to whom I am grateful is Estelea !  Many, many heartfelt thanks to her for nominating Lifestyles with Lia for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”!

Very Inspiring Blog Award

 

Here are the guidelines for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  • List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.
  • State 7 things about yourself.
  • Nominate 7 to 15 other bloggers for the award.
  • Contact your nominees to let them know you have nominated them. Provide a link to your post.
  • Proudly display the award logo (or buttons) on your blog, whether on your side bar, ABOUT page, or a special page for awards.

Here are the 7 things about me:

1.  I dream of visiting Turkey and hot-air ballooning there over Cappadocia.  I even once cried while watching a documentary about it!

2.  I adore cooking shows…Note to self: Never watch on an empty stomach.

3.  I want someone to invent “smell-o-vision” so viewers can share in TV chefs’ kitchen scents! Any inventors out there?

4.  As a kid, I used to practice writing my name backwards, which is “Ail“.  I remember wishing I could change it because “Yram”, “Nerak”, or “Refinnej” sounded way cooler.

5. I’m contemplating getting a pet fish or a pet turtle…If they’ll have me.

6. I’ve got about 20 different shapes of pasta in my kitchen cabinet.  Come over anytime you’ve got a craving for cavatappi, garganelli, or pappardelle!

7. And finally, if you see me walking down the street, don’t be afraid of all the winter outerwear I’ve got wrapped around me.  I never met a mitten I didn’t like.

And here are my nominations for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”.  (I’ve chosen 2 bloggers instead of 7-15).

Sunshine Dad

and

Emma Eats Italian

These two blogs have lots of lovely things to share and they have given me much cause to smile!  Please visit them!

***********************

And last, but not least, is “The Versatile Blogger Award” that was awarded by What Is Past Is Prologue: Thank you so much!

Versatile Blogger award

 

Here are the guidelines for “The Versatile Blogger Award”:

  • Show the award on your blog.
  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 blogs.
  • Link your nominee’s blogs & let them know.

Here are 7 other facts about me:

1.  I don’t really like chocolate.  There. I’ve said it. Please don’t judge me!

2. Even though I don’t speak French, I learned how to sing the national anthem of France, “La Marseillaise”.  I’ve been known to break out into song and be videotaped by French tourists in New York. I’m probably a celebrity by now somewhere in Toulouse.

3. When I eat waffles, I won’t take a bite until all the crevices are filled up with maple syrup.

4.  I dream of being interviewed by Oprah Winfrey. I’m not yet sure about what, but stay tuned…I’ll let you know what channel I’ll be on.

5. At age 2, I once poured a gallon of olive oil on the kitchen floor just to see what it would look like.  Mom still is cleaning oil from the tile grout.

6.  My favorite “ice-breaker” question is: “If snow could fall in any flavor, what flavor would you want it to be?” I choose prosciutto.

7. And finally, my own proverb: “When life gives you lemons…ask them to dance.”

Here are my nominations for “The Versatile Blogger Award” (I’ve chosen 2 instead of 15):

Photobotic: Vanessa Oguchi Photography

and

Rose Bay Letters

These are 2 great blogs that will take you to places that you’ve always wanted to visit! Simply lovely!

*********

In closing, much kindness, goodness and appreciation to those who nominated me as well as to those I’ve nominated!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

39 comments

  1. Wow, Lia, I am touched! Thank you so much for your nomination. Your support in the comments section has been ample reward for my blogging life thus far! I hope I can figure out all the things I am supposed to do in response to your very generous nomination. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You can sing La Marseillaise and have about 20 different kinds of pasta !!! Waou, now i m hyper impressed. Then it’s ok if you re not onto chocolate 😉 Congrats for all those nominations, you deserve them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fun post! I’m a Refinnej – but I used to be embarrassed that my middle name backwards is Ear – I mean ewwwwwww!!! Who wants that for a middle name?!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. wow – you don;t like chocolate? not judging you – but surprised – but neither does my step-daughter – and she just never has liked it!
    and the apple p[ie thing – I totally agree that it whispers a pure “America” feel – and my son actually makes a seriously good apple pie and his friend was over one day and said he never had apple pie – and someone responded “are you american?” because it just seems to american.

    the smell-o-vision sounds great – and I also think it is super fun that you can sing “La Marseillaise” = you are very witty!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on the awards and I am doing my best to hold my gasp in about not loving chocolate. 🙂 Let’s head straight to turkey for some hot air ballooning and I will see if I can convince you.
    When life gives you lemons ask them to dance. I love it and am definitely taking that to heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. One of the nicest things about these awards, is that they usually give us readers an opportunity to get to know the blogger better. This was a very positive post, and it was a pleasure to get to know you. I just loved your own hand made proverb, When life gives you lemons…ask them to dance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I read your comments first thing this morning as I woke….you have made my day…. thank you so very much for your kind words and for visiting! And I am dancing to stay warm this morning on this frigid NYC morn!
      With sincerest regards and appreciation,
      Lia

      Like

  7. Hello friend, I’m back! and sorry for the late reply.
    Missed you!
    I loved reading your answers. It’ is great to know more about you. And I’m still your fired even though you have chocolates, because we share many other interests like cooking, watching cooking shows, going to Cappadocia, singing the French anthem (I forgot by now but was good at it).
    Your proverb is simply you! And I love it. Your contagious positive spirit is beautiful. Thank you.
    Well, no surprises and you deserve all 3 awards and more to come.
    Love from Amsterdam!
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome back and thank you for your lovely words here! Here’s to a fantastic year of blogging and enjoying life! Thanks for still being my friend despite the whole chocolate thing! And yes, we do have a lot in common! Would love to sing a duet of La Marseillaise with you one day!
      Have a glorious rest of your day…I am dancing to try to keep warm on this frigid NYC morning!!!
      Much love to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

