New Year’s Philosophy…From an Eggplant

Just 12 hours away until the stroke of midnight here in New York!

I should be cooking right now…

But I take pause to write…all because of an eggplant.

My New Year’s Eve menu will consist of ooey, gooey, cheesy, pleasy Eggplant Parmigiano.

It’s a recipe carried down from my Sicilian grandmother. (…If you make it here by 8, I’ll save a piece for you!)

As cooks out there may already know, the eggplant contains “bitter juice”.

In order to get rid of it, one must salt the slices and let them sit in a colander before frying.

The “bitter juice” then runs off the slices and the sweetness of the eggplant remains.

All this eggplant preparation today made me think about the New Year.

With the coming of 2015, here’s to “washing away” any bitterness in life and to letting it all go down the drain.

And let’s keep what’s left…all the goodness and deliciousness of every day that we are given.

So as I raise a glass of champagne tonight and bite into the delectable crunch of this voluptuous vegetable, I’ll be thinking of how sweet life is…

and how grateful I am to each and every one of you this year. I’m so glad we met!

Buon Anno!  Happy New Year 2015!

****

Eggplant photo taken by Lia and enhanced with the Brushstroke app…Yes, I’m officially addicted to it!

42 comments

  1. Lia – I loved this post for a few reasons. first, I used to always get eggplant park when we ate at any Italian place. It is no longer my staple because I now have to have more meat (long story – but my blood type does better with certain red meat) anyhow – I just had eggplant parm two nights ago and it was a fun retro order for me (had some more of it for lunch today too)

    another reason I liked this post was for the cooking tips. I usually grow eggplant in the garden – their flower is amazing too – and I ned hop giving most away and then I use it in soup – ha! so I will be sure to try what you noted here… well maybe (ha!
    lastly, your message for the new year was inspiring – and yes – I agree – let’s release the bitterness down the drain – and start a fresh! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post and especially your recent order of Eggplant Parm! It’s really a delicious treat and I too made so much that I had leftovers for days!
      Oh, you grow eggplant! Wow! Yes the flower is very pretty…I really enjoy fried, breaded eggplant the best…If you want to salt the slices, let them drain in a colander for about 30 minutes to an hour with something heavy on top. Then, rinse off the slices and pat dry since they tend to absorb some extra salt.
      Indeed here’s to an amazing 2015 where all the bitterness washes away and we have sweet things that remain!
      Cheers and thanks again for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

