An “Ap-peel” to the Mayor of New York City

Dear Mr. Mayor,

I’m a happy, NYC-loving person so this letter won’t be full of rants or complaints.

I’d like to take a moment of your time to talk about fruit….That’s right, fruit.

Please allow me to explain.

You see, New York State has many official symbols.

For example:

The New York State official beverage is milk.

(Although here in New York City, I think it should be caffe’ latte.)

The New York State official bird is the Eastern bluebird.

(In NYC, it should be the pigeon.)

The New York State official reptile is the snapping turtle.

(Yipes, this could prove dangerous on the NYC subway…)

and

The New York State official fruit is the apple….

But what about an official fruit of New York City?

Have you ever thought about the banana?

Now, please don’t get me wrong (or in trouble with any apple growers)….I love a gooey slice of apple pie for the holidays and nothing beats the crunch of a good, old Granny Smith.

But here are some reasons why I think the banana should be considered as the official fruit of New York City:

*******

  1.  A banana is inexpensive.

What other fruit can you buy here for just 25 cents each?

25 cents

For the same price in NYC, you’d get the equivalent of 2 raspberries, 3 grapes or 1/4 of a kumquat.

By far, the banana is the most cost-effective way for city dwellers to get their fruit on.

  1.  A banana is cross-generational. 

Just take a look at this photo I took on the subway this morning.  Adults and children enjoying bananas together!

mom kid and banana

And who can resist the cuteness of a little kid calling a banana, “nana”?

 

  1. A banana is a ‘no fuss, no muss’ kind of fruit. 

Heck, you don’t even have to wash the thing!

A banana comes wrapped tidy in its own carrying case…What other fruit could you keep in your back pocket?

Plus, have you ever tried to eat a pineapple while riding the bus, Mr. Mayor?  You won’t make friends anytime soon…

Furthermore, you could eat a banana in a movie theater without disturbing fellow film goers…Try doing that with a coconut!

 

  1. And most importantly, a banana is the most philosophical fruit in the basket…

The wise banana teaches us to enjoy life today.

This golden guru shows us that in a few days, things could become dark, spotty and mushy for us…

The banana literally shouts “Carpe Diem” across the breakfast table!

 

So for these reasons, Mr. Mayor, I’d like to campaign for the banana to be NYC’s official fruit.

And please don’t worry, I’m sure the persimmons won’t be offended…

******

 

Author’s note:

Photos by Lia with her iPhone 6.  This letter to the Mayor is purely Lia’s fruit fantasy and won’t be sent to His Honor!

41 comments

    • Thanks for reading:) I truly love NY state apples and have visited orchards upstate to pick super crunchy apples…
      When I saw the child on the subway yesterday, I realized how easy it is to eat a banana around the city:)
      Have a lovely weekend and PS thanks for the follow!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It really is–it’s such a portable fruit. Fun fact: the whole cleanliness thing that you mentioned is actually one of the reasons they became popular in the first place!
        You’re very welcome! I’m always on the lookout for nearby bloggers and the city isn’t too far 🙂

        Like

  1. ROFL for hours…this is absolutely brilliant, Lia. Witty and funny.
    When I read the title I thought it was the job application as a photographer; YAY, he contacted you! I started packing immediately – and canceled my holiday break – as I’m going to be your assistant. Right?
    But you gave me better than that; this post is fabulous. I love the choice too. Viva las Bananas!
    Thanks and have a wonderful weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I rode the subway a lot when I was in NYC last year. It’s a tourist experiment in and of itself. The 3 girls from Brooklyn arguing, the group of 15 Indian tourists yelling in Punjabi, and the 96 other people crammed into the subway car. I couldn’t have fallen down if I wanted to. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I see!!! Very interesting description of your ride…Sounds like you understand exactly what takes place in the myriad of NYC subway lines!
        I often am so crammed in too that I don’t even have to hold on to the pole.. Some unlucky soul would surely be my cushion if I ever fell!
        Cheers to you and to the NYC subway!!
        Now, drinking a hot cup of coffee while riding could prove tricky though!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

