Trash Talk…

New York, like any big metropolis, is full of people.  And where there’s people, there’s bound to be trash.

On certain days, sidewalks are lined with black plastic bags, waiting for pickup by garbage or recycling trucks.

During my morning walk to work, I’ll occasionally spy something curious dumped amongst the rows of refuse.

Maybe it’ll be an old CD player that couldn’t keep up with technology.  Or else a framed oil painting, discarded perhaps by someone who couldn’t bear to look at it anymore. And more often, a tired piece of luggage that’s worn and weary from one too many timezones.

These interesting oddities make me stop and wonder what led up to them being cast off and thrown away.

And so, as seen before here on Lifestyles with Lia, let’s “talk trash” one more time…

desk chair

 

Dear Boss, 

Happy Retirement!

Wow, 25 years in the zipper business! Who would’ve ever thought that clothing closures could be so successful?

It’s been a true honor to share in many office memories with you.

I vividly remember your first day of work. You looked so proud, polishing the bronze nameplate on your desk.  And what followed were many hard-working days and nights together so that you could build a company worthy enough to call your own.

It was rewarding to watch you lean back and revel in your accomplishments. You grew into such a great boss.

Who could forget the countless employee arguments that we settled together? Do you recall that guy accused of stealing someone’s sandwich from the office refrigerator? His tuna-breath totally gave him away.

Of course, there were many major moments too:

That terrible Tuesday morning in September 2001 when you jumped up, spilling coffee all over me as you ran out the door in panic.

And the time I supported you when you silently wept after receiving that dreaded call from the doctor. I’m glad your office wasn’t empty for long after then. In fact, your “Welcome Back” party was lots of fun, except for Helen from Accounting who tried to use me to lead a conga line.

Oh, and remember that Thanksgiving Day, back in 1995? Your family will still never forgive you for having to work on a holiday. We made the best of it, you and I, as we watched the parade pass from below your office window. But there was no turkey for you that year.

My favorite times of all were the family visits. Your adorable grandkids would spin me around so many times that I thought my screws would come loose. But I secretively loved all the attention.

So in closing, my dear boss, I wish you the happiest of everything in your retirement! And it’s ok by me if you decide make the couch your new best friend.

Sincerely yours,

Chair

PS: The new boss decided that I too needed to retire and replaced me behind the desk with an ergonomic, bouncing ball. I wish I could be there to see that show!

7 comments

    • What a busy, stressful day at work it is… And I read your comment here and all turned right for me!!!! Thank you so much for your amazing words… They warm my heart to know that my blog is spreading joy in lives around the world, especially in yours!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • They Say that “really great people can make you feel great too ” and you have that effect Lia .If you haven’t wrote a Book yet do it ! And once Again happy Valentines day and thank you for Being wonderfull you ..it might not mean Much to the world but it means the world to me .I salute you /Liberian Me

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am absolutely speechless …. Your kind words have rendered me humbled and honored… Thank you, thank you. I will write that book someday soon… And it’ll be dedicated to the people out there who supported my writing, like you!
        Happy Valentine’s Day to you and sending much friendship across the miles…
        Lia

        Like

Leave a Reply

